Patient reviews

South Devon Dental
5.0
Based on 45 reviews
powered by Facebook
Sue Edwards
Sue Edwards
2020-07-22T14:10:16+0000
I would like say a huge "THANK YOU" to the lovely hygienist, Annie & her lovely nurse Chloe. They were both so amazing... with me today. I am always so very anxious when I visit the dentist. Annie was so understanding, patient & considerate of how I was and with Chloe's help to make me relax, that also helped massively. "THANK YOU BOTH" once again. gratefully yours, Sue Edwards.read more
Corinna Wagner
Corinna Wagner
2020-07-16T06:06:17+0000
Here's what I loved about South Devon Dental: when I first called, I was given clear advice. That's what I want: no... nonsense booking, to be told the cost upfront, and the addition of a little bit of sympathy and humour. The procedure itself was professional and I left with exactly what I wanted. I will be switching from my Exeter dentist to South Devon Dental, as I appreciate how transparent and straightforward everything was from beginning to end. Dr Rochester was just my style!read more
Angie Duff
Angie Duff
2020-07-01T14:19:39+0000
Was very nervous of dentists thank you to Andy made me feel comfortable, 4 teeth out & no pain what's so ever. Amazing... friendly teamread more
Barry Ormerod
Barry Ormerod
2020-02-24T18:38:36+0000
I have never felt comfortable going to the dentist, I was careful about picking one since we have moved here. I have to... say though that after having root treatment and a large filling I felt totally at ease here, i can honestly say that Dr Glenning is the best dentist i have ever had. He was highly professional, told me everything that he was doing, what effects it would have and kept me involved all the way through. i even walked out at the end feeling good. No hesitation in going back and thoroughly recommend this practice.read more
Alex Barton
Alex Barton
2020-01-22T12:53:15+0000
Great dental practice and wonderful staff. Going to the dentist was always a bit anxiety-inducing in the past, but the... friendly atmosphere here actually makes it an enjoyable experience now. I've recently completed treatment for some wonky teeth using the 6 Month Smile braces with Chris (teeth are looking spot on now). He and the dental nurses have been fab throughout, great at putting you at ease and giving you a giggle. Wonderful reception staff too - I really appreciated getting a follow up call from them after having my braces fitted. I was feeling really sorry for myself and they made me feel so much better. Teles on the ceiling too - always a bonus!read more
Simon Milford
Simon Milford
2020-01-22T10:25:23+0000
All staff are so warm and welcoming, I was so nervous about getting my teeth fixed but Chris soon put my mind at ease.... Wouldn’t go to anybody else . Highly recommended and loving the results 😁read more
Kelly Gidley
Kelly Gidley
2019-09-25T07:19:15+0000
I would just like to say how wonderful Chris was yesterday. After being with Mr Francis almost all my life I was a... little anxious about having someone new. Chris made myself my husband and my 3yr old little girl feel completely at ease and was really thorough with each of us. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Thank youread more
Jayne Barrett
Jayne Barrett
2019-09-21T21:44:33+0000
Dr Tony Hands is a genius. I was told by my NHS dentist that there was nothing they could do to fix an old faulty RCT,... I was in a 'tricky place', and there was no point in referring me on. I was not happy with that so I researched local endodontists, and chose South Devon Dental. So glad I did. After the best and most thorough ever assessment of my teeth and mouth I've ever had, Dr Hands provided me with written details and options of what could be done for me to consider. Today, after an hour and a half of completely painless treatment, my RCT has been replaced and the tooth re-built ready for one of his colleagues at the practice to crown it. His skills were worth every penny. So much for nothing could be done!!!! I can't emphasise how brilliant Dr Tony Hands is. He allayed my fears, thus gaining my confidence and ensured I was comfortable throughout the long procedure. The practice is clean and modern, with state of the art equipment. Everyone I have met at the practice has been friendly, welcoming and reassuring. I'm not worried about returning to have the rest of my dental work completed. Thank you all so much, can't praise or highly recommend you enough.read more
Leah Louise Hill
Leah Louise Hill
2019-08-23T05:55:10+0000
I can’t even begin to explain how greatful I am! I have the biggest phobia of dentists and haven’t actually been... since the age of 12.. after making Devon Dental aware of my phobia they were ever so patient and very very friendly! Dr Rochester is the only dentist who has successfully pulled a tooth of mine out due to my massive phobia I usually get up and run! Overall the service I received was amazing and I most definitely will be back moving forward for any dental treatment. Thank you so much for being so patient and consistent with meread more
Jane Kenny
Jane Kenny
2019-08-19T20:27:35+0000
Had to visit South Devon Dental practice as an emergency appointment due to my dentist not being able to accommodate... me. I was in excruciating pain and managed to get an appointment straight away. All the staff put you at ease on arrival. I saw the lovely Dr Andy Rochester who talked me through all my options and in the end we agreed the tooth needed to be removed. I was a nervous emotional wreck but Dr Rochester put me at ease and his lovely assistant held my hand. The procedure was all done in minutes with no discomfort at all. I would highly recommend Dr Andy Rochester and the team at South Devon Dental Practice. Thank you for looking after me today. Regards Jane Kenny.read more
Janet Ann Murphy
Janet Ann Murphy
2019-08-15T18:28:31+0000
Excellent service and so very kind and friendly
Charles Dale
Charles Dale
2019-07-29T16:23:52+0000
Very good. Friendly helpful staff.
John Denzel Bovey
John Denzel Bovey
2019-07-02T17:44:25+0000
Had another appointment today with Chris and can only speak highly of the surgery. Chris and every member of staff... make you most welcome. Regards Mr Boveyread more
Marketa Marketa
Marketa Marketa
2019-06-07T22:05:56+0000
I cannot praise this practice enough, from the reception staff to the hygienist and dentists. We attend the practice... with my two boys (8 & 5 yrs). The staff are friendly, understanding, calm and comforting, always a smile on their faces. My children are at ease, thus I am at ease. We have experienced Chris and Andy as dentists - both amazing, friendly, knowledgeable. Anna, our hygienist is not to be forgotten in this review, she is so patient with my big boy. She does a great job with our teeth. I feel that the advice I am given is honest, the pricing is transparent and I am simply a very happy customer. Thank you.read more
Lucy Browning
Lucy Browning
2019-06-02T22:04:05+0000
Absolutely Amazing Dentist! I've Always Been Terrified Of The Dentist But Having Needed Treatment Went Here And From My... First New Patient Assessment To My Treatment The Staff Are Absolutely Lovely And So Welcoming And Reassuring From Reception Staff To The Dentists. Dr Tanya Is Lovely And Made Me Feel At Ease!!read more
Daniel Bull
Daniel Bull
2019-05-22T19:29:06+0000
Seen on an emergency appointment same day, amazing professionalism and painless experience-easily the best dentist I've... been too. Thanks again for seeing me at such short notice.read more
Laura Flynn
Laura Flynn
2019-05-11T17:41:21+0000
Great team of people and an amazing service! Only used as an Emergancy dentist due to a 10weeks wait list at my current... dentist - but I’m definitely switching over for all of my future check ups and work. 10/10read more
Kelly Vicker
Kelly Vicker
2019-02-26T12:19:06+0000
I hadn’t been to the dentist in 16 years because I was too scared, today that all changed. I can’t thank the... wonderful ladies on reception, the nurses and Tanya enough for putting me at ease and talking me through everything before it was done. I can’t recommend this place enough. So warm and welcoming.read more
Claire Bowes-cavanagh
Claire Bowes-cavanagh
2018-12-06T20:51:41+0000
Excellent friendly and professional service. I love the late night opening this makes it easier to manage the kids... appointments without infringing on school time. Excellent price structure for families with children. Very friendly welcoming practise. I will be recommending to my friends and family xread more
Amy Harvey
Amy Harvey
2018-12-04T21:56:12+0000
Absolutely amazing place!! I am petrified of the dentist but this dentist is the only place that I have found to really... understand your anxieties. Everyone is extremely calm, kind and so very understanding. I now will only ever recommend this dentist, especially tanya :))read more
Katherine McPhee
Katherine McPhee
2018-11-29T09:54:36+0000
After living in North America for a number of years and receiving great dental care, I was a little nervous in case I... didn’t find a dentist equally as good. I have been pleasantly surprised with the care and treatment I have found with South Devon Dental, and I would highly recommend.read more
Gantita Morgan
Gantita Morgan
2018-10-18T15:58:34+0000
I was in so much pain and with being pregnant the only thing you can take is paracetamol which didn’t work. The pain... was so unbearable I booked an emergency appointment with DR R and couldn’t recommend him and his team enough. I felt so comfortable and didn’t feel any pain at all! All them years of being scared to go to a dentist I’m definitely pleased to have found such a good one.read more
Chantelle Scales
Chantelle Scales
2018-10-11T10:35:54+0000
Very friendly and honest
Emily Tucker
Emily Tucker
2018-08-17T07:54:25+0000
Highly recommended Dental Practice... fantastic management and team but most of all great personalised treatment for... all.read more
Charlotte Amie Binmore-May
Charlotte Amie Binmore-May
2018-07-10T21:18:21+0000
I took my son (5) & daughter (2) to see Dr Rochester for a check up, whilst there my daughter was advised to get rid of... her dummy as it would damage her teeth, which I had explained to her many times before without success but she did take notice when her dentist told her and was given a prize for handing it over, after a few reminders of what Dr Rochester told her about how the dummy would hurt her teeth she finally gave it up!! A lot easier than I thought, Thank You � They both can’t wait to come back�read more
Next Reviews
South Devon Dental
5.0
Based on 72 reviews
powered by Google
Kimberley Price
Kimberley Price
11:53 29 Mar 20
Dr. Glenning was amazing and gave me back my smile again! Super happy with both new crowns - I had fallen and broken both of my front teeth. Extremely professional, friendly & empathetic - I highly recommend this practice.
Gary Thomas
Gary Thomas
22:05 04 Mar 20
I would like to say a huge thank you to all at South Devon Dental for the excellent care provided to our family. Everything is explained in great detail and guidance given every step of the way. They really show a caring touch that helps with not only understanding treatment but puts you at complete ease knowing you are in safe, professional and secure hands.
Graeme Morrison
Graeme Morrison
16:52 28 Feb 20
I joined South Devon Dental when the practice of Dr Tudor Francis transitioned over on his retirement. Having been with Dr Francis for over forty years I was apprehensive about joining a new team. I should not have been, having been seen by Dr Sam Steevenson, I was given an excellent introductory consultation and although this resulted in one extraction and a new filing; the work could not have gone better in my opinion. If anyone reads this who is considering changing from their existing practice, I am happy to recommend South Devon Dental, hence my five star rating.
Patricia Thomas
Patricia Thomas
16:56 22 Feb 20
I had specialist nerve root canal work done by Dr. Hands. Although a long procedure, it was made as comfortable as possible, and he constantly checked throughout that I was okay. The team seemed very professional, and I would not hesitate to return if necessary. When I got home, upon checking my Fitbit, it had thought I’d been asleep for 2 hours! That says it all really!
Janet Garton
Janet Garton
11:49 16 Feb 20
A great big thank you to Dr Rob Glenning and his team for my recent dental treatment which was carried out professionally, calmly, painlessly and with a good dose of humour. As a retired dentist myself ( but not a particularly brave patient!) I am very well aware of the expertise needed to provide treatment of this quality. Good job done everyone 😃👍
Rich Garton
Rich Garton
15:43 13 Feb 20
As a recently retired dentist I am very aware of the many aspects of a dental practice that need to be in place to deliver an excellent service to patients. So, being a new patient here, and having had some quite extensive procedures in the hands of Rob Glenning, I am delighted to say that all my expectations are exceeded. Boring but very important things such as cross-infection, I observed as top rate. The whole team of staff were delightful and very helpful. Rob himself is very professional and competent but at the same time relaxed and fun. Thanks very much for a great experience!
Jane Richards
Jane Richards
11:14 08 Feb 20
Cam was amazing. He has transformed my smile and made me feel so much happier. Highly recommend. Nothing too much trouble. Thankyou Cam.
Ian Farren
Ian Farren
09:10 23 Jan 20
Having always been anxious about visiting the dentist, after a poor experience in early childhood, Dr Jonathan Hope and Dr Andrew Rochester made my treatment (root canal and a 'complex' extraction) at South Devon Dental a very positive one. I was treated with care and enormous consideration, ensuring that I was aware and informed at every stage of the treatment process. I would recommend these practitioners without reservation.
Hollie Newbold
Hollie Newbold
20:10 21 Jan 20
I would like to thank Dr Rochester and all the wonderful dental nurses at South Devon Dental for all the patience and time they have spent with me during the last 6 months of Implant surgery. I was fully informed on all the surgery that has taken place, and the costings involved, I am extremely pleased with the final result and nothing has been to much trouble.Many Thanks to the whole team.Catherine Newbold.
Peter Hope
Peter Hope
09:10 21 Jan 20
Absolutely brilliant. I didn’t attend a dentist for about 7 years maybe more due to a bad experience with an NHS desntist s. I let things go in my dental care and I had a mouth full of problems. Due to necessity I attended south Devon dental and met Dr Rochdale. He is an amazing dentist, I’ve had a few over the years so I’m comparing with quite a few. A year and a half later and quite a few procedures all is good in my mouth. I didn’t feel a thing at all, no pain during root canal, extraction, and an implant procedures. I am no longer scared to go to the dentist. They are all lovely and look after you. I now get checks and attend a hygienist at regular intervals. If like me you have to pay at an NHS dentist, why not pay a little more and go to this private practice. Honestly it’s worth it.
Cristina Cris
Cristina Cris
19:07 15 Jan 20
I really recommended this clinical because the team it's very good special dr Andy. In 30 minutes he took al my pain that I had for 2 weeks. I had a problem with wisdom tooth and now it's gone. Thanks dr. Andy
maureen hayes
maureen hayes
20:24 08 Jan 20
Thank You South Devon Dental, for giving me my confidence back in dental care. My grandchildren kept on saying that my “gap’s “ we’re getting bigger.!!! I was absolutely terrified of dentists after having a bad time a long, long time ago. I also have a “needle” phobia. Well I took the plunge and saw all the fabulous reviews about South Devon Dental, this is after hour’s of searching the net. I made the phone call, which was a big thing for me, and immediately felt at ease by the receptionist. On the day of the appointment I was shaking, but within a few minutes of sitting in the chair and having a chat with the dentist, I was starting to feel a little bit better. Dr Sam Steevenson is absolutely fantastic, he is calming, kind, total professional and talks through your treatment with you. I have, so far, had my teeth cleaned and scraped, tooth extracted, (Dr Steevenson put some numbing jelly on first before the injection,) my gap’s filled on my bottom teeth and now I am waiting to have a stick on bridge for my top gap. One of the appointments was for 2 hour’s in the chair!!!! No pain whatsoever. I feel so confident and happy. Dr Sam Steevenson’s work has given me this confidence, Thank You.
Sean Villiers
Sean Villiers
21:26 07 Jan 20
Reassuringly fantastic! 12 years of ignoring my oral hygiene due to a horrific procedure I was recommended SD dental service. Now 2 procedures in with the fabulous Tanya and a session with the lovely hyginest Annie and my faith has been restored. A Quality lead service, with a person centred approach and what appears to be a dusting of dental magic and I'm now feeling happy to start smiling again... Reassuringly fantastic and worthy of the 5 ⭐
Your Social Media Assistant-Dan Bull
Your Social Media Assistant-Dan Bull
16:24 20 Dec 19
After a terrible experience at a well known practice in Torquay town centre, I came here after I lost half a tooth 5 days after having a filling! Dr Rochester replaced the filling and was very patient with me- I am a very anxious person in general so I really appreciated this. The practice is really top class and restored my faith in local dental practices. Everything is top class and the after care and customer service is spot on 100%. Thank you for seeing me at such short notice and for putting my filling back together!
Paul Holmes
Paul Holmes
19:40 20 Nov 19
Excellent service, you won't find a better practice anywhere else, 110% guaranteed. Try the rest, and then receive the best treatment at south Devon dental practice.
jason james
jason james
19:52 26 Sep 19
The best in the south west Rob Glenning is an expert dentist always makes u feel comfortable and relaxed and the whole practice are friendly and welcoming...
Jayne Barrett
Jayne Barrett
22:31 21 Sep 19
Where to start....have received fantastic care from Dr Tony Banks after my NHS dentist informed me nothing could be done about a failing RCT, there was “no point in referring” me and I was in a “tricky position”. Me being me decided I would investigate further as I didn’t believe there was no point in a second opinion. After researching local endodontists I chose South Devon Dental. Having explained the circumstances to reception staff, I was given an appointment to meet with Dr Banks, (ordinarily one can’t self refer for endodontics). I had the most thorough assessment of my teeth & mouth by him, before receiving written details of treatment options and prices for me to consider. Having made my choices, today Dr Banks has replaced the faulty RCT and re-built my tooth ready for one of his colleagues to crown. So much for “nothing can be done”!! Dr. Banks is an endodontic genius 😁. He allayed my fears, thus gaining my confidence which allowed me to sit (lie down) through nearly 2 hours of completely painless treatment. The practice is great ~ clean, modern and with state of the art equipment other dentists, (probably NHS ones) can only dream of. Everyone I’ve met has been welcoming, friendly and helpful. I’m now not worried about completing my dental treatment with another dentist 🦷 at this great practice. Thank you all so much.
Zoe Cunningham
Zoe Cunningham
08:17 18 Sep 19
After a really nasty fall onto my face over the weekend my friend referred me to South Devon Dental for emergency treatment, i knocked my front tooth out and needed it rebuilt! Usually scared of dentists i was made to feel so comfortable and had the most pleasant experience with South Devon Dental from the helpful receptionists to Dr Rob Glenning who repaired my mouth to look even better than it did before my accident! I have already booked my next appointment with no nerves about now going to the dentist 🙂 thank you South Devon Dental Team! 🙂
Richard Corrigan
Richard Corrigan
17:32 23 Jul 19
Excellent dental practice. Very professional and extremely competent. Reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.
Joanne Taylor
Joanne Taylor
12:56 15 Jul 19
I’m one of these people that hate’s going to the dentist. My visit this morning was the first in a long time due to not having a very good dentist before. All staff at south Devon dental care are all very friendly at make you feel at ease. I would recommend this dentist
Leon Elliott
Leon Elliott
10:52 09 Apr 19
I can't recommend this practice highly enough. From enrolling a year ago with a cracked tooth, which unfortunately deteriorated and resulted in needing a crown. Dr Rochester was excellent with his advice, options and solutions and I was booked in ASAP whenever I've had concerns with on-going issues. More recently, I have been very happy with the results after a brief appointment with the hygienist. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and there is a really nice atmosphere around the place, everyone is clearly busy and happy in their work environment. Thank you SDD team, always a pleasure!
reece walker
reece walker
21:41 22 Mar 19
I had been in pain for 24Hr South Devon Dentist was the only dentist to have seen me in such short notice as a non-patient, the staff was extremely welcoming & polite. I have been to many dentist in Torbay and by far this was the best the price was very reasonable, in fact, the cheapest I have ever paid for an emergence treatment, I highly recommend this dentist
Bradley Reiman
Bradley Reiman
18:27 11 Jan 19
Having been to a few Dentists in the area, I can now safely say this is the best. A fantastic dental practice, with lovely welcoming staff and top notch treatments. I felt very comfortable with Rob and my teeth look and feel better than ever. Highly recommend to everyone in Torbay and beyond.
Liz Pugh
Liz Pugh
16:21 18 Dec 18
Replaced my front tooth crown today and am very pleased! I have been visiting Dr Glenning for over 15 years and he is the best cosmetic dentist in the area. Feel completely confident in his work. The team are friendly and efficient with public car park nearby.
Kayleigh Pattle
Kayleigh Pattle
14:45 19 Nov 18
I had my teeth straightened with South Devon Dental (Six Month Smiles Treatment) - From start to finish they have been amazing. The results achieved from this treatment has exceeded my expectations, i couldn't be more happier with the results and the process itself. The staff are fantastic, and i wouldn't want to go elsewhere now.
Marc Munden
Marc Munden
16:37 27 Sep 17
Both my wife & I needed some treatment, so not being from around here I asked a friend for any recommendations and they sent us here. All I can say is I'm SO happy they did!!! I was given an appointment for the very next morning (yesterday) where I had one cracked tooth rebuilt & one new filling done. Quick, easy & painless!! My wife needed a filling re-done and a general check-up, particularly of her bottom wisdom teeth as they were giving her some discomfort. Ex-ray showed one of them coming in at an angle which they surgically removed this morning! All in all a very satisfying experience all round with an extremely nice, polite & professional crew! Would happily recommend to anyone!!
Ollie Abercrombie
Ollie Abercrombie
10:55 26 Sep 17
This place is absolutely amazing!!! I literally don't k ow where to start. The reception staff were welcoming and appeared normal human " friendly" people not robotic reading from the screen. My little girl went upstairs to see DR Tanya and she was amazing with her. She convinced me that the drill was a little brush that they use to clean teeth. She was brilliant with her put me at ease and I wasn't having anything done. I can't reccomend this place enough. My little one had cool little sun glasses to put on during the process and got given a Barbie sticker a medal and a frozen sticker she loved it. The little touches go a long way. Can't reccomend this place enough.
Beccy Luton
Beccy Luton
19:28 07 Sep 17
Lovely practice, nicely decorated and to to watch on the ceiling when in the chair! Really friendly staff and very thorough check up. Would recommend to anyone looking for a new dentist 😊
Sam Bowman
Sam Bowman
09:26 04 Sep 17
very good experience. called to book a tooth out at 8:30 and was done by 10:30. great staff really friendly. and a cup of tea after.
Najwa Tabib
Najwa Tabib
11:28 22 Jun 17
Fantastic dental practice. Very professional and polite staff, really happy with my treatment so far. Dr Rochester has been extremely patient with me as I'm not the easiest patient to deal with!! Would recommend to anyone looking for high quality dental treatment!
Next Reviews